Draft Minutes Barrie AAA Zone Hockey Inc. AGM, June10, 2014

Hugh Campbell, Annette Reid, Liane Brassard, Pauline Chiodo, Tom Bly, John Brassard, Joe Rockbrune, Rosa Donnelly, Denise Grasse, Laura Lightheart, David Donnelly, Kerry Graham, Mike Plesh, Andy King, Terri McCloskey, Claudia Thompson

Introduction of Board Members

Scott Jackson Memorial Award presented to - Nathan Donnelly

Minor Midget Awards presented to- Nolan King and Matt Brassard

Motion to accept Minutes from May 30^{th,} 2013

1st Joe Rockbrune 2nd Annette Reid

HOCKEY OPERATIONS-Tom Bly

2013-2014 has been a very successful year.

Novice lost in last game of ETA's
Minor Atom made it to the ETA Playoffs
Atom made it to the OMHA's
Minor Peewee OMHA bronze medalist
Peewee made it to the ETA's
Minor Bantam made it to the ETA's
Bantam made it to the ETA's
Minor Midget ETA Champions

We are proud to present our Barrie AAA Zone players who were drafted to the OHL Saturday April 6, 2014

Matthew Brassard - 4th round #77 to Barrie Colts Matthew Menna - 7th round #131 to Sudbury Wolves Christian Antoski - 9th round #163 to Ottawa 67's Matthew Barnes - 9th round #171 to Sudbury Wolves Mitch Livingston - 10th round #194 to North Bay Battalion Lucas Chiodo - 15th round #293 to Barrie Colts Brock Welsh - 15th round #296 to Oshawa Generals

- -Matthew Brassard and Matthew Barnes are OHF Gold Cup Gold Medalist
- -Commitment of the Athletes' and our excitement of what is ahead of them at the next level.
- -Brian Carroll heading up the Head Trainers Program next season.
- -Darryl Bossence heading up Nutrition and off Ice Best Practice Seminar next season

EQUIPMENT COMMITTEE-Pauline Chiodo

The 2013/2014 season was a success with our continued partnership with Garners. New last season we participated in the Bauer Team program and the introduction of the new White Bauer jersey and Team hockey pant was well received by the membership. We provided the players with both a home and away microfiber sock to compliment white and blue jerseys. Garners completed fitting for teams Novice to Minor Midget in May and we look forward to working with Bauer again this season.

RISK MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE- Tom Dart

The season went well from a risk management perspective. The committee had to deal with fewer complaints than in past seasons.

A great thank you is owed to Tom Bly and to Hugh Campbell for encouraging and implementing OMHA policies regarding respect in sport even before this program become widespread. The program was used for any coaches who wanted the program to assist in player development and parental understanding of the OMHA policies. For many reasons, we have decided not to continue the base line testing program for concussion management. We have confirmed with the doctors who specialize in this field that they will continue to work with our Association in assessing players for return to play and for assisting their recovery. We now have created the position of a Head Trainer as well who going forward will assist the trainers of all teams regarding any injuries players might suffer. We also wish to remind all team staff, including trainers and parents, that in order to obtain OMHA insurance for any injury, an injury report must be prepared and sent to OMHA immediately after any injury.

Many thanks as well to Annette Reid who has been an invaluable member of the Risk Management Committee. She will be meeting with all team managers in the coming weeks to prepare everyone for next season. She is a tireless volunteer! It has been a pleasure serving as your Risk Management Director. Please remember that the other hat I wear is Ombudsman for the organization and if you have any questions or concerns as the next season progresses, please feel free to contact me at my email address

PLANNED ACTIVITIES

tdart@barristonlaw.com.

Continued Development for next season

AUDITORS REPORT- Kerry Graham

- -We are running at a \$50,000 surplus and happy to report that we are up to date with our audits with no accounting irregularities.
- -The decision was made to eliminate our Lottery. BMO used our \$50,000 investment on hold to secure the prize pool for the lottery.

- -We found that parents purchased most of the lottery tickets.
- -66.75% of our fees go directly to ice cost.
- -We have worked towards a balanced budget for next year.

APPOINTMENT OF THE AUDITORS

Motion to use BDO

1st Denise Grasse 2nd Liane Brassard Carried

BY-LAW CHANGES- Hugh Campbell

Motion to change the Articles 5.01 (see App. A)

1st Dennise Grasse 2nd Annette Reid Carried

ELECTIONS of NEW BOARD- Hugh Campbell

Chair -Hugh Campbell
Vice Chair of Finance- Denise Grasse
Administrator- Lisa Michaels
Vice Chair of Hockey Operations- Tom Bly
Vice Chair of Administration- Annette Reid
Treasurer- Andy King
Risk Management- Tom Dart

Acclaimed

Motion to Adjourn 1st Joe Rockbrune 2nd Annette Reid

Meeting Adjourned 8:07p.m

Appendix A

2014 AGM proposed Bylaw change

Submitted by the Barrie AAA Zone Hockey Executive

Current

ARTICLE 5 – Directors

5.01 Election and Term

Subject to the Article, the members will elect the directors at the first meeting of members and at each succeeding annual meeting at which an election of directors is required, and the directors shall be elected to hold office for a term expiring not later than the close of the second annual meeting of members following the election.

Proposed

ARTICLE 5 – Directors

5.01 Election and Term

Subject to the Article, the members will elect the directors at the first meeting of members and at each succeeding annual meeting at which an election of directors is required., and the directors shall be elected to hold office for a term expiring not later than the close of the second annual meeting of members following the election.

The Directors will be elected alternatively, for two (2) year terms to provide continuity at the Board. At the 2014 AGM, the Chair, Vice Chair Finance and Administrator will be elected for a two (2) year term. The Vice Chair Hockey Operations, Vice Chair Administration, Treasurer and Risk Management Director will be elected for a one (1) year term. At all subsequent elections the term will be for two (2) years.

Rationale

To provide continuity to the Board and not have wholesale changes in elected officials at one time.