

History of Barrie AAA Zone Hockey

Prior to 1986, Barrie was an AA centre. Barrie AAA hockey was a branch of BMHA from the time AAA actually started in Barrie in 1986-87. Barrie AAA originally started out in the South Central AAA league (SCTA) and joined the Eastern Triple A league (ETA) in 1995.

In June 1995 the OMHA set up a zone policy and created the Barrie AAA Zone made up of Barrie, Innisfil, Essa, Oro, Elmvale, and Wasaga Beach. The Barrie AAA Zone was formed as an independent organization in May 1996. For the 1996-97 season we continued using BMHA uniforms and for the 1997-98 season we became known as the Barrie Icemen AAA with Colorado Avalanche colors and distinctive logo designed by Ken Groleau. Registration fees for the 1997-98 season were \$700.00 per player.

The Barrie Icemen became the Barrie Colts in September 2005.

Original constitution was passed on May 22, 1996 and amended Dec 1997.

First elections were in July 1996, 1st President - Hugh Campbell, 1st Ice Scheduler - Bill McKeen, Head Coach Mentor- John Church and Referee in Chief - Rick Ahern.

nedu Coach Mentor-John Church and Referee III Chief - Rick Anem.

1996-97 Coaches - Novice Rusty Hastings, Minor Atom Tom Bly, Atom Mark Thompson, Minor Peewee Jim Hamilton, Peewee Greg Hotham, Minor Bantam Jeff Johnstone, Bantam Bob Appleton, Minor Midget Stu Thompson and Midget Frank McKendry.

Realignment of Zones by the OMHA came into effect for 2010-2011 season. As part of this change

The Barrie AAA Zone is now made up of the member Centres of Barrie, Beeton, Essa, Innisfil, Stayner and New Tecumseth (TNT). Wasaga Beach, Oro and Elmvale were transferred to the North Central Zone and New Tecumseth and Beeton were transferred from York Simcoe Zone to Barrie Zone.

Barrie AAA Zone Chairs

Hugh Campbell 1996-97 Tom Dart 1998-99 Wayne Parro 2000 Tom Dart Chair 2001-02 Cindy O'Donnell Chair 2003-05 Tom Dart Chair 2006 Hugh Campbell Chair 2007-present